Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Linn County, Missouri

Linn County Education, Geography, and HistoryLinn County, Missouri Courthouse

Linn County is a county located in the northern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,761. Its county seat is Linneus. The county was organized January 1, 1837 and named for US Senator Lewis F. Linn of Missouri.

Etymology - Origin of Linn County Name

Named for Lewis F. Linn, United States senator


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Linn County

Linn County was organized January 7, 1837. "It was named after Honorable Lewis T. Linn who was a United States Senator from 1833-1843." In 1843, Honorable Lewis T. Linn died at his residence at Ste. Genevieve. (Eaton, p. 187; Gannet, p. 187; LINN COUNTY ATLAS, 1876, p. 6; HIST. LINN (Brisdall & Dean), p. 169; RECORD OF CHAR. COUNTY, Part II, p. 17)

Source: Adams, Orvyl Guy. "Place Names In The North Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 621 square miles (1,610 km2), of which 616 square miles (1,600 km2) is land and 5.8 square miles (15 km2) (0.9%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Sullivan County (north)
  • Adair County (northeast)
  • Macon County (east)
  • Chariton County (south)
  • Livingston County (west)
  • Grundy County (northwest)


Public schools

Brookfield R-III School District - Brookfield
Bucklin R-II School District - Bucklin
Linn County R-1 School District - Purdin
Marceline R-V School District - Marceline
Meadville R-IV School District - Meadville

Private schools

Father McCartan Memorial School - Marceline (K-09) - Roman Catholic
Locust Creek Mennonite School - Laclede (02-09) - Mennonite

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge