Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Livingston County, Missouri

Livingston County Education, Geography, and HistoryLivingston County, Missouri Courthouse

Livingston County is a county located in the northwestern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,195. Its county seat is Chillicothe. The county was organized January 6, 1837, and named for US Secretary of State Edward Livingston.

Etymology - Origin of Livingston County Name

Named for United States Secretary of State Edward Livingston.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Livingston County

Livingston County was organized January 6, 1837. It was named for Honorable Edward Livingston, who was the eleventh Secretary of State of the United States, serving in General Jackson's cabinet two years, from 1831 to 1833. (HIST. CAL. & LIV., p. 695; Eaton, p. 188; RECORD OF CHAR. COUNTY, p. 188; LIVINGSTON COUNTY ATLAS, p. 9; TOP. MAP, LIV. COUNTY)

Source: Adams, Orvyl Guy. "Place Names In The North Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 539 square miles (1,400 km2), of which 532 square miles (1,380 km2) is land and 6.2 square miles (16 km2) (1.2%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Grundy County (north)
  • Linn County (east)
  • Chariton County (southeast)
  • Carroll County (south)
  • Caldwell County (southwest)
  • Daviess County (northwest)


Public schools

Chillicothe R-II School District - Chillicothe
Livingston County R-III School District - Chula
Southwest Livingston County R-I School District - Ludlow

Private schools

Bishop Hogan Memorial School - Chillicothe (K-09) - Roman Catholic

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge