Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Macon County, Missouri

Macon County Education, Geography, and HistoryMacon County, Missouri Courthouse

Macon County is a county located in the northern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,566. Its county seat is Macon. The county was organized January 6, 1837 and named for Nathaniel Macon, a Revolutionary War hero and North Carolina politician.

Etymology - Origin of Macon County Name

Named for Nathaniel Macon, Revolutionary War soldier and North Carolina congressman.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Macon County

Macon County was organized January 6, 1837. It was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon of North Carolina. He had an unswerving faith in the people to govern themselves and a favorite saying of his was: "If left alone they will always do what's right." (HIST. OF RAN. & MACON, p. 709; Eaton, p. 191; RECORD OF CHAR. COUNTY, p. 17; TOP. MAP, MACON)

Source: Adams, Orvyl Guy. "Place Names In The North Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 812 square miles (2,100 km2), of which 801 square miles (2,070 km2) is land and 11 square miles (28 km2) (1.4%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Adair County (north)
  • Knox County (northeast)
  • Shelby County (east)
  • Randolph County (south)
  • Chariton County (southwest)
  • Linn County (west)


Public schools

Atlanta C-3 School District - Atlanta
Bevier C-4 School District - Bevier
Callao C-8 School District - Callao
La Plata R-II School District - La Plata
Macon County R-I School District - Macon
Macon County R-IV School District - New Cambria

Private schools

Tri County Christian School - Macon (PK-06) - Nondenominational Christian
Immaculate Conception School - Macon (K-08) - Roman Catholic

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge