Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Miller County, Missouri

Miller County Education, Geography, and HistoryMiller County, Missouri Courthouse

Miller County is a county located in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 24,748. Its county seat is Tuscumbia. The county was organized February 6, 1837 and named for John Miller, former US Representative and Governor of Missouri.

Etymology - Origin of Miller County Name

Named for John Miller, governor of Missouri.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Miller County

South of Cole County near the center of Missouri. On the north are Cole and Moniteau Counties on the east are Osage and Maries Counties, on the west is Morgan County, on the southwest is Camden, on the south is Pulaski. Originated February 6, 1837 by act of the state legislature, before which it was a part of Cole County, and named in honor of John Miller (1781-1846), fourth governor of Missouri, 1826-1832. John Miller was a colonel under General Harrison in the War of 1812 and a member of Congress 1826-1842. The county was first settled in 1815 by Seneca R.Y. Day and others. (Laws of Missouri, February 6, 1837; Parker, 321; Conard, 384-386)

Source: Weber, Frank. "Place Names Of Six South Central Counties of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1938.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 600 square miles (1,600 km2), of which 593 square miles (1,540 km2) is land and 7.4 square miles (19 km2) (1.2%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Moniteau County (north)
  • Cole County (northeast)
  • Osage County (northeast)
  • Maries County (east)
  • Pulaski County (south)
  • Camden County (southwest)
  • Morgan County (west)


Public schools

Eldon R-I School District - Eldon
Iberia R-V School District - Iberia
Miller County R-III School District - Tuscumbia
St. Elizabeth R-IV School District - St. Elizabeth

Private schools

Lakeview Christian Academy - Lake Ozark (K-10) - Nondenominational Christian
Our Lady of the Snows School - Eugene (K-09) - Roman Catholic
Eldon Montessori Children' House - Eldon (PK-K) - Nonsectarian
Powerhouse Christian Academy - Iberia (PK-12) - Nondenominational Christian
The King's Academy - Christ the King Lutheran School - Lake Ozark (Preschool-4) - Lutheran

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge