Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Moniteau County, Missouri

Moniteau County Education, Geography, and HistoryMoniteau County, Missouri Courthouse

Moniteau County is a county located in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,607.Its county seat is California. The county was organized February 14, 1845 and named for the Moniteau Creek. 'Moniteau' is a French spelling of Manitou, Algonquian for the Great Spirit.

Moniteau County is part of the Jefferson City, MO Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Moniteau County Name

Named for Moniteau Creek. The name Moniteau is the French spelling of the Indian word meaning "spirit of God." It has been said that the creek was named by the Indians for the painted figure of a man "spirit of God," that was on a rock at the mouth.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Moniteau County

Moniteau County was organized February 14, 1845. It was named for the creek which flows through it (q.v.). "The present spelling dates from 1821 when the Cole County Court established Moniteau Township, the orthography being their own for manito or manitou." (HIST. COLE, MONITEAU, p. 310, Campbell, p. 66, Gannett, p. 212)

Source: Pace, Nadine. "Place Names In The Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 419 square miles (1,090 km2), of which 415 square miles (1,070 km2) is land and 3.8 square miles (9.8 km2) (0.9%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Cooper County (northwest)
  • Boone County (northeast)
  • Cole County (southeast)
  • Miller County (south)
  • Morgan County (southwest)


Public schools

Clarksburg C-2 School District - Clarksburg
High Point R-III School District - High Point
Jamestown C-1 School District - Jamestown
Moniteau County R-I School District - California
Moniteau County R-V School District - Latham

Private schools

California Christian Academy - California (02-07) - Nondenominational Christian
Hazel Dell School - Latham (02-09) - Mennonite
Prairie Union School - Latham (02-09) - Mennonite
South Latham School - Latham (01-08) - Mennonite
St. Andrew School - Tipton (K-09) - Roman Catholic

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge