Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Montgomery County, Missouri

Montgomery County Education, Geography, and HistoryMontgomery County, Missouri Courthouse

Montgomery County is a county located in the eastern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,236. Its county seat is Montgomery City. The county was named in honor of Richard Montgomery, an American Revolutionary War general killed in 1775 while attempting to capture Quebec City, Canada.

Etymology - Origin of Montgomery County Name

Named for Richard Montgomery, a Revolutionary War general.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Montgomery County

Originally a part of St. Charles County; organized December 14, 1818. The exact origin of the name remains unsettled. Three explanations have been offered. Eaton says it was named for General Richard Montgomery, a hero of the Revolutionary War, who fell at the battle of Quebec on December 31, 1775; and this explanation is supported by the authority of Colonel Switzler as reported in an article in the JEFFERSON CITY DAILY TRIBUNE. But Rose (1876), declares this derivation to be incorrect, and affirms that it was named for Montgomery County, Kentucky, because so many citizens of that county had settled here. Rose's opinion seems a plausible one, especially since General Montgomery's death lay so far in the past when the Missouri county was organized. Conard is doubtful which origin to accept, but notes that the Kentucky county was itself named for General Montgomery, a fact which would account for the theory of a like origin for the one in Missouri. Conard is followed by the HIST. ST. CHALES, MONTGOMERY & WARREN The HIST. N.E. MISSOURI, however, advances still a third explanation: that it took the middle name of General Zebulon Montgomery Pike, the citizens being disappointed because Pike County (q.v.), had already appropriated his last name, and determined in some way to honor this extensively popular explorer and military hero, who had fallen in battle a few years before in the War of 1812. This conjecture is, however, unsupported by any evidence, and Rose's explanation must be given the preference. The county as at present constituted is bounded on the north by Audrain and Pike Counties, on the east by Warren and Lincoln, on the south by Warren and the Missouri River, and on the west by Callaway and Audrain. (Bryan and Rose, 228, Conard IV, 465, Eaton, 332, HIST. N.E. MISSOURI, 508, History of St. Charles, Montgomery and Warren Counties, 558, Jefferson City Daily Tribune, October 22, 1904, Laws, Terr. of Louisiana, 1818, 114-123; Mrs. J.F. Ball, W.F. Hupe)

Source: Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 542 square miles (1,400 km2), of which 536 square miles (1,390 km2) is land and 5.8 square miles (15 km2) (1.1%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Audrain County (northwest)
  • Pike County (northeast)
  • Lincoln County (east)
  • Warren County (southeast)
  • Gasconade County (south)
  • Callaway County (west)
  • Osage County (southwest)


Public schools

Montgomery County R-II School District - Montgomery City
Wellsville-Middletown R-I School District - Wellsville

Private schools

Immaculate Conception School - Montgomery City (PK-06) - Roman Catholic

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge