Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Morgan County, Missouri

Morgan County Education, Geography, and HistoryMorgan County, Missouri Courthouse

Morgan County is a county located in the central portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 20,565. Its county seat is Versailles. The county was organized January 5, 1833 and named for General Daniel Morgan of the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Morgan County Name

Named for Daniel Morgan, a Revolutionary War general.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Morgan County History

Morgan County

Located in central Missouri; bounded on the north by Cooper and Moniteau Counties, on the east by Moniteau and Miller, south by Camden, west by Benton and Pettis Counties. Organized January 5, 1833. Named for the Revolutionary hero, General Daniel Morgan (1736-1802), who displayed great bravery at the battle of Cowpens (1781), in the defeat of Tarleton. He died July 6, 1802. Eight counties in other states have also been named for General Morgan. A strip from the southeast side was transferred in 1868 to Miller County and in 1881 the diagonal east boundary was changed. (Morgan County (1887); Hist. (1889) 410; Eaton (1917) 333; Gannett)

Source: Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 614 square miles (1,590 km2), of which 598 square miles (1,550 km2) is land and 16 square miles (41 km2) (2.7%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Cooper County (north)
  • Moniteau County (northeast)
  • Miller County (southeast)
  • Camden County (south)
  • Benton County (west)
  • Pettis County (northwest)


Public schools

Morgan County R-I School District - Stover
Morgan County R-II School District - Versailles

Private schools

Dogwood Grove School - Versailles (02-09) - Mennonite
St. Paul Lutheran School - Stover (K-09) - Lutheran

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge