Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Newton County, Missouri

Newton County Education, Geography, and HistoryNewton County, Missouri Courthouse

Newton County is a county located in the southwest portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 58,114. Its county seat is Neosho. The county was organized in 1838 and is named in honor of John Newton, a hero who fought in the Revolutionary War.

Newton County is part of the Joplin, MO Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Newton County Name

Named for John Newton, a Revolutionary War soldier.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Newton County

Newton County was named for Sergeant John Newton, a comrade of Sergeant William Jasper, and, along with Jasper, one of "Marion's Men" in the Revolutionary War. The county was organized and named December 31, 1838, under the Session Acts 1838-1839. (Eaton (28), p. 335; Session Acts 1838-1839)

Source: Meyers, Robert Lee. "Place Names In The Southwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1930.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 627 square miles (1,620 km2), of which 625 square miles (1,620 km2) is land and 1.8 square miles (4.7 km2) (0.3%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Jasper County (north)
  • Lawrence County (northeast)
  • Barry County (southeast)
  • McDonald County (south)
  • Ottawa County, Oklahoma (west)
  • Cherokee County, Kansas (northwest)


Public schools

East Newton County R-VI School District - Granby
Diamond R-IV School District - Diamond
Neosho R-V School District - Neosho
Seneca R-VII School District - Seneca

Private schools

Neosho Christian Schools - Neosho (K-12) - Churches of Christ
Ozark Christian Academy - Neosho (PK-12) - Pentecostal
Racine Apostolic Christian School - Racine (PK-12) - Pentecostal
Trinity Learning Center [Neosho, Missouri] (K-12) [Protestant]


Crowder College - Neosho. A two-year junior college.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge