Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Saline County, Missouri

Saline County Education, Geography, and HistorySaline County, Missouri Courthouse

Saline County is a county located along the Missouri River in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 23,370. Its county seat is Marshall. The county was established November 25, 1820, and named for the region's salt springs.

Etymology - Origin of Saline County Name

Named for its numerous salt springs.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Saline County

Saline County was organized on November 25, 1820 and named for the many salt springs it contained. (Conrad, p. 476; Eaton, vol. 13, p. 63; Jacob Van Dyke)

Source: Pace, Nadine. "Place Names In The Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 767 square miles (1,990 km2), of which 756 square miles (1,960 km2) is land and 11 square miles (28 km2) (1.5%) is water. It is located along the Missouri River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Carroll County (northwest)
  • Chariton County (northeast)
  • Howard County (east)
  • Cooper County (southeast)
  • Pettis County (south)
  • Lafayette County (west)


Public schools

Gilliam C-4 School District - Gilliam
Hardeman R-X School District - Marshall
Malta Bend R-V School District - Malta Bend
Marshall School District - Marshall
Orearville R-IV School District - Slater
Sweet Springs R-VII School District - Sweet Springs

Private schools

Calvary Baptist School - Marshall (PK-10) - Baptist (Alternative School)
St. Peter Catholic School - Marshall (K-09) - Roman Catholic


Missouri Valley College - Marshall - A private, four-year Presbyterian university.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge