Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

St. Charles County, Missouri

St. Charles County Education, Geography, and HistorySt. Charles County, Missouri Courthouse

St. Charles County is a county located in the eastern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 360,485, making it the third-most populous county in Missouri. Its county seat is St. Charles. The county was organized October 1, 1812 and named for Saint Charles Borromeo, an Italian cardinal.

St. Charles County is part of the St. Louis, MO-IL Metropolitan Statistical Area and contains many of the city's northern suburbs.

Etymology - Origin of St. Charles County Name

Named for Italian Cardinal St. Charles Borromeo.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Saint Charles County

A county in eastern Missouri, lying between the Mississippi and the Missouri Rivers and south of Cuivre River. It is just east of the 5th principal meridian of longitude. As at present constituted, it is bounded on the east and northeast by the Mississippi River, on the south by the Missouri River and just across it by St. Louis and Franklin Counties, on the west by Warren County, and on the northwest by Lincoln County. When it was first organized, on October 1, 1812, it was far larger; in fact it was the largest county ever in existence. It extended from the Missouri River to Canada on the north, and to the Pacific Ocean on the west, and so remained until 1816. The county, or "District of St. Charles," or "St. Charles District," as it was often called, really had at that time no definite limits. In 1816, however, Howard County was cut off from the western part of St. Charles and organized separately. Cedar Creek, which now forms the eastern boundary of Boone County, was established as the line between St. Charles and Howard. In December, 1818, Montgomery and Lincoln Counties were organized, and St. Charles, which at first included the present Warren County (q.v.), was finally reduced to its present dimensions. Undoubtedly the county took its name from the town of St. Charles, as the dates make apparent. (HIST. ST. CHARLES, 126; Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I, 554; Eaton; Benj. Emmons) See District of St. Charles

Source: Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943. Elliott, Katherine. "Place Names of Six Northeast Counties of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1938.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 593 square miles (1,540 km2), of which 560 square miles (1,500 km2) is land and 32 square miles (83 km2) (5.4%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Lincoln County (northwest)
  • Calhoun County, Illinois (north)
  • Jersey County, Illinois (northeast)
  • Madison County, Illinois (east)
  • St. Louis County (southeast)
  • Franklin County (south)
  • Warren County (west)


Public schools

Fort Zumwalt R-II School District - O'Fallon
Francis Howell R-III School District - St. Peters
Orchard Farm R-V School District - St. Charles
St. Charles R-VI School District - St. Charles
Wentzville R-IV School District - Wentzville

Private schools

Academy of the Sacred Heart - St. Charles - (PK-08) - Roman Catholic
All Saints School - St. Peters - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
Assumption Catholic Grade School - O'Fallon - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
Campbell Montessori School - St. Charles - (NS-06) - Nonsectarian
First Baptist Christian Academy - O'Fallon - (PK-07) - Nondenominational Christian
Foristell Baptist Academy - Foristell - (K-09) - Baptist
Hope Montessori Academy - Lake St. Louis - (PK-K) - Nonsectarian
Immaculate Conception Catholic School - Dardenne Prairie - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
Immanuel Lutheran School - St. Charles - (PK-08) - Lutheran
Immanuel Lutheran School - Wentzville - (PK-08) - Lutheran
Living Word Christian School District - O'Fallon and St. Peters- (PK-12) - Nondenominational Christian
Messiah Lutheran School - Weldon Spring - (PK-08) - Lutheran
Mid Rivers Seventh-day Adventist School - St. Peters - (03-08) - Seventh-day Adventist
St. Charles Borromeo - St. Charles - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Cletus School - St. Charles - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Elizabeth St. Robert Regional School - St. Charles - (PK-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Joseph School - Cottleville - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Joseph School - Wentzville - (PK-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Patrick Elementary School - Wentzville - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Paul Elementary School - St. Paul - (PK-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Peter Catholic School - St. Charles - (PK-08) - Roman Catholic
St. Theodore School - Wentzville - (K-08) - Roman Catholic
Sts. Joachim & Ann School - St. Charles - (PK-08) - Roman Catholic
Trinity Lutheran School - St. Charles - (01-08) - Lutheran
Willott Road Christian Academy - St. Peters - (NS-09) - Baptist
Zion Lutheran School - St. Charles - (PK-08) - Lutheran
Living Word Christian School - O'Fallon - (06-08) - Nondenominational Christian
Liberty Classical School - O'Fallon - (07-12) - Nondenominational Christian
Christian High School - O'Fallon- (09-12) - Nondenominational Christian
Duchesne High School- St. Charles- (09-12)- Roman Catholic
Lutheran High School of St. Charles County - St. Peters - (09-12) - Lutheran
St. Dominic High School - O'Fallon - (09-12) - Roman Catholic

Alternative schools

Boonslick State School - St. Peters - Special Education
Fort Zumwalt Hope High School - O'Fallon - Other/Alternative School - (09-12)
Francis Howell Union High School - St. Charles - Other/Alternative School - (09-12)
Heritage Landing - St. Peters - Other/Alternative School - (06-12)
Lewis & Clark Career Center - St. Charles - Vocational/Technical School - (09-12)
Quest Day Treatment Center - St. Charles - Other/Alternative School - (06-12)

Higher education

Lindenwood University - St. Charles
St. Charles Community College - Cottleville

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge