Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Stone County, Missouri

Stone County Education, Geography, and HistoryStone County, Missouri Courthouse

Stone County is a county located in the southwestern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 32,202. Its county seat is Galena. The county was officially organized on February 10, 1851, and is named after William Stone, an English pioneer and an early settler in Maryland who also served as Taney County Judge.

Stone County is part of the Branson, MO Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Springfield-Branson, MO Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Stone County Name

Named for William Stone, pioneer judge of Taney County.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Stone County

Organized in 1851 from portions of Greene and Taney Counties and named for John W. Stone, who came from Tennessee, an early settler and influential member of the community. The first settlement in the county was made by Joseph Philibert who, in 1806, with two Delaware Indians came up the White River thence to James. (John Bass; Geo. King; Rufe Scott; Eaton (46) V, p. 68)

Source: Bell, Margaret E. "Place Names In The Southwest Border Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 511 square miles (1,320 km2), of which 464 square miles (1,200 km2) is land and 47 square miles (120 km2) (9.2%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Christian County (north)
  • Taney County (east)
  • Carroll County, Arkansas (south)
  • Barry County (west)
  • Lawrence County (northwest)


Of adults 25 years of age and older in Stone County, 80.4% possesses a high school diploma or higher while 14.2% holds a bachelor's degree or higher as their highest educational attainment.

Public schools

Blue Eye R-V School District - Blue Eye
Crane R-III School District - Crane
Galena R-II School District - Galena
Hurley R-I School District - Hurley
Reeds Spring R-IV School District - Reeds Spring

Private schools

Apostolic Christian School - Reeds Spring - (05-12) - Non-denominational Christian

Alternative & vocational schools

Gibson Technical Center - Reeds Spring - (09-12) - Vocational/Technical
New Horizons Alternative School - Reeds Spring - (06-12) - Alternative/Other
Tri-Lakes Special Education Cooperative - Blue Eye - (K-12) - Special Education

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge