Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Taney County, Missouri

Taney County Education, Geography, and HistoryTaney County, Missouri Courthouse

Taney County is a county located in the southwestern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 51,675. Its county seat is Forsyth. The county was officially organized on January 4, 1837, and named in honor of Roger Brooke Taney, the fifth Chief Justice of the US Supreme Court, most remembered for later delivering the infamous majority opinion in Dred Scott v. Sandford.

Taney County includes the popular tourist destination city of Branson. It is included in the Branson, MO Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Springfield-Branson, MO Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Taney County Name

Named for Roger B. Taney, Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Taney County

The first permanent settlement was made in 1827 by two brothers Youchuim (sic), three Dentires, and a McAdo, who located on White River and commenced farming. The county was organized January 16, 1837 from old Wayne County which reached from close to the Mississippi on the east to the Missouri line on the west; and from the Arkansas line on the south to the Missouri River. Named in honor of Chief Justice Taney of Maryland of the Supreme Court. Taney was appointed Secretary of State in 1833 and nominated Chief Justice of the United States March 15, 1836 just when the county was beginning to be organized. The change of pronunciation was formally ordered by the County Court about 1870, according to several old citizens (county records were all burned in 1885). (Eaton (46) V, p. 69; Haswell (ii), p. 19; Chas. Groom)

Source: Bell, Margaret E. "Place Names In The Southwest Border Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 652 square miles (1,690 km2), of which 632 square miles (1,640 km2) is land and 19 square miles (49 km2) (2.9%) is water.

The county is drained by White River and its affluents

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Christian County (north)
  • Douglas County (northeast)
  • Ozark County (east)
  • Marion County, Arkansas (southeast)
  • Boone County, Arkansas (south)
  • Carroll County, Arkansas (southwest)
  • Stone County (west)


Of adults 25 years of age and older in Taney County, 81.4% possess a high school diploma or higher while 14.9% hold a bachelor's degree or higher as their highest educational attainment.

Colleges and universities

Taney County is home to the College of the Ozarks.

Public schools

Bradleyville R-I School District - Bradleyville
Branson R-IV School District - Branson
Forsyth R-III School District - Forsyth
Hollister R-V School District - Hollister
Kirbyville R-VI School District - Kirbyville
Mark Twain R-VIII School District - Rueter
Taneyville R-II School District - Taneyville

Private schools

Faith Christian Academy - Branson - (PK-12) - Non-denominational Christian
Trinity Christian Academy - Hollister - (PK-12) - Non-denominational Christian
Riverview Bible Baptist Church School - Forsyth - (05-08) - Baptist

Alternative & vocational schools

Delmina Woods Youth Facility - Forsyth - (06-12) - Alternative/Other School

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge