Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Washington County, Missouri

Washington County Education, Geography, and HistoryWashington County, Missouri Courthouse

Washington County is a county located in the eastern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 25,195. The largest city and county seat is Potosi. The county was officially organized on August 21, 1813, and was named in honor of George Washington, the first President of the United States.

Etymology - Origin of Washington County Name

Named for George Washington, first President of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Washington County

The sixth oldest county in Missouri, it was organized August 21, 1813, from Ste. Genevieve County, one of the five original Spanish districts. It is bounded on the north by Franklin, on the northeast by Jefferson, on the east by St. Francois, on the south by Iron, and on the west by Crawford counties. Named in honor of George Washington. (Goodspeed, 1888, 480-1; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI, 1888, 85)

Source: Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 762 square miles (1,970 km2), of which 760 square miles (2,000 km2) is land and 2.6 square miles (6.7 km2) (0.3%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Franklin County (north)
  • Jefferson County (northeast)
  • St. Francois County (east)
  • Iron County (south)
  • Crawford County (west)


Of adults 25 years of age and older in Washington County, 62.5% possesses a high school diploma or higher while 7.5% holds a bachelor's degree or higher as their highest educational attainment.

Public schools

Kingston K-XIV School District - Cadet
Potosi R-III School District - Potosi
Richwoods R-VII School District - Richwoods
Valley R-VI School District - Caledonia/ Belgrade

Private schools

St. Joachim Elementary School - Cadet - (PK-08) - Roman Catholic

Colleges and universities

Mineral Area College Annex - Potosi - A satellite campus of Mineral Area College-Park Hills.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge