Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Webster County, Missouri

Webster County Education, Geography, and HistoryWebster County, Missouri Courthouse

Webster County is a county located in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 36,202. Its county seat is Marshfield. The county was organized in 1855 and named for US Senator and US Secretary of State Daniel Webster.

Webster County is part of the Springfield, MO Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Webster County Name

Named for Daniel Webster, Massachusetts senator and US Secretary of State.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Webster County

W.T. Burford, the first white settler in Webster County, moved here from Tennessee in 1830 and settled near the present site of Marshfield. March 3, 1855 Webster County was organized from portions of Wayne, Crawford, and Greene Counties and named in honor of Daniel Webster (1782-1852) the brilliant statesman who had recently died. (A.M. Haswell; p. 76; Eaton (46) V, p. 73)

Source: Bell, Margaret E. "Place Names In The Southwest Border Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 594 square miles (1,540 km2), of which 593 square miles (1,540 km2) is land and 1.2 square miles (3.1 km2) (0.2%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Dallas County (northwest)
  • Laclede County (northeast)
  • Wright County (east)
  • Douglas County (southeast)
  • Christian County (southwest)
  • Greene County (west)


Public schools

Fordland R-III School District - Fordland
Marshfield R-I School District - Marshfield
Niangua R-V School District - Niangua
Seymour R-II School District - Seymour

Private schools

Ozark Mennonite School - Seymour - (01-10) - Mennonite
Marshfield Christian School - Marshfield - (K-12) - Nondenominational Christianity

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge