Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Worth County, Missouri

Worth County Education, Geography, and HistoryWorth County, Missouri Courthouse

Worth County is a county located in the northwestern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,171. It is the smallest county in the state in population and, excepting the independent city of St. Louis, the smallest in total area. Its county seat is Grant City. The county was organized February 8, 1861 and named for General William J. Worth who served in the Mexican-American War.

Etymology - Origin of Worth County Name

Named for William Jenkins Worth, a soldier in the Florida and Mexican Wars.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Worth County

For many years following 1820 the territory now included in Worth County was a part of Ray. In 1833 it became a part of Clinton County, and in 1841, a part of Gentry. An act organizing Worth as a separate county was passed on February 8, 1861. Worth derived its name from General William Jenkins Worth, a distinguished American soldier, who died at San Antonia, Texas, May 7, 1849. It is the smallest county in the state. (Eaton, p. 74; Gannett, p. 330; HIST. OF HARR., p. 119; Conard, vol. V1, p. 526) (HIST. OF GENTRY & WORTH, p. 513)

Source: Ewing, Martha K. "Place Names In The Northwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1929.


As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 267 square miles (690 km2), of which 267 square miles (690 km2) is land and 0.2 square miles (0.52 km2) (0.08%) is water. It is the smallest county in Missouri by area. Iowa is located to the north of Worth County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Taylor County, Iowa - northwest
  • Ringgold County, Iowa - northeast
  • Harrison County - east
  • Gentry County - south
  • Nodaway County - west


Public schools

Worth County R-III School District - Grant City

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge