Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Wright County, Missouri

Wright County Education, Geography, and HistoryWright County, Missouri Courthouse

Wright County is a county located in the southern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 18,815.] Its county seat is Hartville. The county was officially organized on January 29, 1841, and is named after Silas Wright (D-New York), a former Congressman, US Senator and Governor of New York

Etymology - Origin of Wright County Name

Named for Silas Wright, a New York senator.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Wright County

The settlement of Wright County dates back to 1836, though men of what is now Texas County sojourned there as early as 1826. The county was organized January 29, 1841, and named for Silas Wright (1795-1847), a leader of the Democratic Party. He was United States Senator from New York (1833-1844) and one of the most brilliant statesmen of the day. (N.J. Craig; Haswell (11), p. 77; Eaton (46) V, p. 34)

Source: Bell, Margaret E. "Place Names In The Southwest Border Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 683 square miles (1,770 km2), of which 682 square miles (1,770 km2) is land and 1.4 square miles (3.6 km2) (0.2%) is water.

The county is drained by the Gasconade River and the headwaters of White River. The terrain is moderately hilly.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Laclede County (north)
  • Webster County (west)
  • Douglas County (south)
  • Texas County (east)


Of adults 25 years of age and older in Wright County, 71.1% possesses a high school diploma or higher while 9.8% holds a bachelor's degree or higher as their highest educational attainment.

Public schools

Hartville R-II School District - Hartville
Mansfield R-IV School District - Mansfield
Mountain Grove R-III School District - Mountain Grove
Norwood R-I School District - Norwood
Manes R-V School District - Manes

Private schools

Mountain Grove Christian Academy - Mountain Grove - (PK-12) - Non-denominational Christian
Liberty Faith Christian Academy - Norwood - (K-12) - Non-denominational Christian

Alternative and vocational schools

Ozark Mountain Technical Center - Mountain Grove - (09-12) - Vocational/Technical
Ozark Regional Juvenile Detention Center - Mountain Grove - (05-12) - Juvenile Hall
Skyview State School - Mountain Grove - (K-12) - A school for handicapped students and those with other special needs.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge