Nevada Counties
Nevada County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nevada Counties

There are sixteen counties and one independent city in the state of Nevada. On November 25, 1861, the first Nevada Territorial Legislature established nine counties. Nevada was admitted to the Union on October 31, 1864 with eleven counties. In 1969, Ormsby County and Carson City were consolidated into a single municipal government known as Carson City.

Douglas County, Nevada

Douglas County Education, Geography, and HistoryDouglas County, Nevada Courthouse

Douglas County is a county located in the northwestern part of the state of Nevada. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 46,997. Its county seat is Minden.

Douglas County comprises the Gardnerville Ranchos, NV Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Reno-Carson City-Fernley, NV Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Douglas County Name

Named for Stephen Arnold Douglas (April 23, 1813 - June 3, 1861; son of Stephen Arnold Douglas and Sarah Fisk) was an American politician from the western state of Illinois, and was the Democratic Party nominee for President in 1860. He lost to the Republican Party's candidate, Abraham Lincoln, whom he had defeated two years earlier in a Senate contest following a famed series of debates. He was nicknamed the "Little Giant" because he was short but was considered by many a "giant" in politics. Douglas was well-known as a resourceful party leader, and an adroit, ready, skillful tactician in debate and passage of legislation.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Douglas County History

Douglas County holds the first permanent settlement in Nevada. The town of Genoa was originally settled in 1851 by Mormon traders selling goods to settlers on their way to California.

November 25, 1861 Douglas County was one of the first nine counties formed in 1861 by the Nevada territorial legislature. Named for Stephen Arnold Douglas, a nationally known political figure and opponent of Abraham Lincoln. Seat: Minden. H.F. Dangberg, Sr. settled in Carson Valley in 1857. He was born in the village of Halle near the Prussian town of Minden, Westphalia, hence the town name.


As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 738 square miles (1,910 km2), of which, 710 square miles (1,838 km2) of it is land and 28 square miles (72 km2) of it (3.77%) is water.

Douglas County is in western Nevada in the western United States. Stretching from Carson Valley and running up into the Sierra Nevada, the county is bordered on the west by California, and contains half of Lake Tahoe, which is split across the two states. Carson City, the state capital, lies to the north, and Lyon County to the east.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Carson City, Nevada - north
  • Lyon County, Nevada - east
  • Mono County, California - southeast
  • Alpine County, California - south
  • El Dorado County, California - west
  • Placer County, California - northwest


Douglas County's education is managed by the Douglas County School District. It serves for all of Douglas County, having two main areas: Lake Tahoe & the Carson Valley. Douglas High School also serves most of the high school age students from Alpine County, California

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge