New Mexico Counties
New Mexico County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New Mexico Counties

There is thirty-three counties in the state of New Mexico. There were originally nine counties formed in 1852. Santa Ana County, New Mexico Territory, one of the nine original counties, was annexed in 1876 to Bernalillo County, New Mexico.

De Baca County, New Mexico

De Baca County Education, Geography, and HistoryDe Baca County, New Mexico Courthouse

De Baca County is a county located in the state of New Mexico. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,022, making it the second-least populous county in New Mexico. Its county seat is Fort Sumner. The county is named for Ezequiel Cabeza De Baca, the second elected Governor of New Mexico.

Etymology - Origin of De Baca County Name

De Baca County was named for Ezequiel C. de Baca, New Mexico's second Governor under statehood


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

De Baca County History

De Baca County was created 28 February 1917. The County seat is Fort Sumner. De Baca County was named for Ezequiel C. de Baca, New Mexico's second Governor under statehood. The dedication of the present day courthouse was on 24 November 1930. De Baca County is heavily engaged in sheep and cattle ranching. Farming is also abundant due to the valuable waters coming from the Pecos River. The outlaw named William Bonney, alias Billy the Kid, was shot by Sheriff Pat Garrett 14 July 1881.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,334 square miles (6,050 km2), of which 2,323 square miles (6,020 km2) is land and 11 square miles (28 km2) (0.5%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Guadalupe County - north
  • Quay County - northeast
  • Roosevelt County - east
  • Chaves County - south
  • Lincoln County - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge