New Mexico Counties
New Mexico County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New Mexico Counties

There is thirty-three counties in the state of New Mexico. There were originally nine counties formed in 1852. Santa Ana County, New Mexico Territory, one of the nine original counties, was annexed in 1876 to Bernalillo County, New Mexico.

Dõna Ana County, New Mexico

Dõna Ana County Education, Geography, and HistoryDona Ana County, New Mexico Courthouse

Dõna Ana County is a county located in the southern part of the state of New Mexico. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 209,233, which makes it the second-most populated county in New Mexico. Its county seat is Las Cruces, the second-largest in New Mexico. Dõna Ana is a Spanish name meaning "Madam Anna" and was probably given in honor of some Spanish matron. Dõna Ana County comprises the Las Cruces, NM Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the El Paso-Las Cruces, TX-NM Combined Statistical Area. Dõna Ana is pronounced Dõnana. It borders between western Texas and Mexico's Chihuahua State.

Etymology - Origin of Dõna Ana County Name

Named for a lady named,Dõna Ana Robledo who in the 17th century gave money to many charities.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dõna Ana County History

Dõna Ana County was created 9 January 1852. It was named for a lady named, Dõna Ana Robledo who in the 17th century gave money to many charities. Las Cruces is the county seat and it is the home of NMSU. This area is laced with history from the Mesilla area obtained from the Gadsden Purchase in 1854, to Hatch--chili capital of the world, Sunland Park, the White Sands National Monument, Space-shuttle, spy planes, and NASA. It is also rich in agriculture and boasts international commerce.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,814 square miles (9,880 km2), of which 3,808 square miles (9,860 km2) is land and 6.9 square miles (18 km2) (0.2%) is water.

The county contains a number of prominent geographical features, most notably the Mesilla Valley (the flood plain of the Rio Grande) going north to south through the center and the Organ Mountains along the county's eastern edge. Other mountain ranges in the county are the Robledo Mountains, Dõna Ana Mountains, Sierra de las Uvas, the southern end of the San Andres Mountains, East Potrillo Mountains, and West Potrillo Mountains, as well as two small, isolated mountains, Tortugas (or A) Mountain on the east and Picacho Peak on the west side of Las Cruces. The county also includes one of New Mexico's four large lava fields, the Aden Malpais, and one of the world's largest maare volcanoes, Kilbourne Hole.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Luna County - west
  • Sierra County - north
  • Otero County - east
  • El Paso County, Texas - southeast
  • Ascension, Chihuahua, Mexico - south
  • Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico - south


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge