New Mexico Counties
New Mexico County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New Mexico Counties

There is thirty-three counties in the state of New Mexico. There were originally nine counties formed in 1852. Santa Ana County, New Mexico Territory, one of the nine original counties, was annexed in 1876 to Bernalillo County, New Mexico.

Grant County, New Mexico

Grant County Education, Geography, and HistoryGrant County, New Mexico Courthouse

Grant County is a county located in the state of New Mexico. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 29,514. Its county seat is Silver City. The county was founded in 1868 and named for Ulysses S. Grant, 18th President of the United States.

Grant County comprises the Silver City, NM Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Grant County Name

It was named for General Ulysses S. Grant who became president.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Grant County History

Grant County was created 30 January 1868. It was named for General Ulysses S. Grant who became president. Silver City is the county seat. This county is rich with copper, gold and other metals. It contains part of the Gila National Forest. Farming and ranching are major businesses.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,968 square miles (10,280 km2), of which 3,962 square miles (10,260 km2) is land and 5.9 square miles (15 km2) (0.1%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Catron County - north
  • Sierra County - east
  • Luna County - southeast
  • Hidalgo County - south
  • Greenlee County, Arizona - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge