New Mexico Counties
New Mexico County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New Mexico Counties

There is thirty-three counties in the state of New Mexico. There were originally nine counties formed in 1852. Santa Ana County, New Mexico Territory, one of the nine original counties, was annexed in 1876 to Bernalillo County, New Mexico.

McKinley County, New Mexico

McKinley County Education, Geography, and HistoryMcKinley County, New Mexico Courthouse

McKinley County is a county located in the northwestern section of the state of New Mexico. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 71,492. Its county seat is Gallup. The county was created in 1901 and named for President William McKinley.

McKinley County comprises the Gallup, NM Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of McKinley County Name

It was named for William McKinley who was the 25th president of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

McKinley County History

McKinley County was created 23 February 1899. It was named for William McKinley who was the 25th president of the United States. The county seat is Gallup. Gallup is the center of American Indian Inter-tribal Ceremonial. McKinley boasts a lumber industry, oil refinery, coal mining, and uranium production. It has within its boundaries the Navajo reservation and other Indian lands and ancient attractions.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 5,455 square miles (14,130 km2), of which 5,450 square miles (14,100 km2) is land and 5.5 square miles (14 km2) (0.1%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • San Juan County - north
  • Sandoval County - east
  • Cibola County - south
  • Apache County, Arizona - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge