New Mexico Counties
New Mexico County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New Mexico Counties

There is thirty-three counties in the state of New Mexico. There were originally nine counties formed in 1852. Santa Ana County, New Mexico Territory, one of the nine original counties, was annexed in 1876 to Bernalillo County, New Mexico.

Santa Fe County, New Mexico

Santa Fe County Education, Geography, and HistorySanta Fe County, New Mexico Courthouse

Santa Fe County is a county located in the state of New Mexico. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 144,170, making it New Mexico's third-most populous county, after Bernalillo County and Doña Ana County. Its county seat is Santa Fe, the state capital.

Santa Fe County comprises the Santa Fe, NM Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Albuquerque-Santa Fe-Las Vegas, NM Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Santa Fe County Name

Meaning of County Name


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Santa Fe County History

Located in north central New Mexico, Santa Fe was one of the seven partidos established during Mexican rule. The division of counties in New Mexico can be traced back to this time. The first subdivison of the New Mexico Territory was made in 1837 when two partidos - districts - were created. In 1844, New Mexico was re-divided into three districts. Eventually these districts were further subdivided into areas that include similar boundaries to New Mexico's first counties. The County seat is Sante Fe, the capital city of New Mexico.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,911 square miles (4,950 km2), of which 1,909 square miles (4,940 km2) is land and 1.5 square miles (3.9 km2) (0.08%) is water.

It is the fifth-smallest county in New Mexico by area. The highest point in the county is the summit of Santa Fe Baldy at 3,847 meters (12,621 ft). It is drained by the Rio Grande and several of its small tributaries

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • IRio Arriba County - north
  • Mora County - northeast
  • San Miguel County - east
  • Torrance County - south
  • Bernalillo County - southwest
  • Sandoval County - west
  • Los Alamos County - northwest


There are currently 4 Schools districts in Santa Fe county:

Española Public Schools
Moriarty Municipal Schools
Pojoaque Valley Public Schools
Santa Fe Public Schools

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge