South Carolina Counties
South Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Carolina Counties

South Carolina is made up of fourty-six counties. They range in size from 392 square miles (1,016 square kilometers) in the case of Calhoun County to 1,358 square miles (3,517 square kilometers) in the case of Charleston County. The least populous county is McCormick County, with only 9,958 residents, while the most populous county is Greenville County, with a population of 395,357, despite the state's most populous city, Columbia, being located in Richland County.

Cherokee County, South Carolina

Cherokee County Education, Geography, and History

Cherokee County, South Carolina Courthouse

Cherokee County is a county located in the state of South Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 55,342. The county seat is Gaffney. The county was formed in 1897 from parts of York, Union, and Spartanburg Counties. It was named for the Cherokee people who historically occupied this area prior to European encounter.

Cherokee County comprises the Gaffney, SC Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Greenville-Spartanburg-Anderson, SC Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Cherokee  County Name

Cherokee is named after the Cherokee Native American people.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cherokee County History

Cherokee County was named for the Cherokee Indians who once made it their home. It was formed in 1897 from parts of Spartanburg, Union, and York counties, and the county seat is Gaffney. During the Revolutionary War at the battle of Cowpens, an important victory for the revolutionary forces, took place there on January 17, 1781. Iron mining was an important activity in this region up to the time of the Civil War, and it is sometimes called the Old Iron District. In the mid-nineteenth century, the resort at Limestone Springs was a popular retreat for lowcountry planters. Writer Wilbur Joseph Cash (1901-1941) was a native of Cherokee County, as is actress Andie MacDowell.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 397 square miles (1,029 km2), of which, 393 square miles (1,017 km2) of it is land and 5 square miles (12 km2) of it (1.16%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Cleveland County, North Carolina - north
  • York County, South Carolina - east
  • Union County, South Carolina - south
  • Spartanburg County, South Carolina - west
  • Rutherford County, North Carolina - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge