South Carolina Counties
South Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Carolina Counties

South Carolina is made up of fourty-six counties. They range in size from 392 square miles (1,016 square kilometers) in the case of Calhoun County to 1,358 square miles (3,517 square kilometers) in the case of Charleston County. The least populous county is McCormick County, with only 9,958 residents, while the most populous county is Greenville County, with a population of 395,357, despite the state's most populous city, Columbia, being located in Richland County.

Dillon County, South Carolina

Dillon County Education, Geography, and History

Dillon County, South Carolina Courthouse

Dillon County is a county located in the state of South Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the county's population was 32,062. The county seat is Dillon. Founded in 1910 from a portion of Marion County, Dillon is named for local booster J.W. Dillon.

Etymology - Origin of Dillon County Name

Both Dillon County and the city of Dillon were named for prosperous local citizen James W. Dillon (1826-1913), an Irishman who settled there and led a campaign to bring the railroad into the community. The result of this effort was the construction of the Wilson Short Cut Railroad, which later became part of the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, and which brought greater prosperity to the area by directly linking Dillon County to the national network of railroads


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dillon County History

Dillon County was named for James W. Dillon (1826-1913), a prominent local resident. The county seat was also named for him. Dillon County was formed in 1910 from Marion County. Swamps and rivers kept this section of the Pee Dee isolated for many years, but the construction of a railroad in the nineteenth century brought increased development. The residents primarily engaged in cotton and tobacco farming and in timber harvesting. Composer Carlisle Floyd was born in the Dillon County town of Latta

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 407 square miles (1,053 km2), of which, 405 square miles (1,049 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.42%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Robeson County, North Carolina - east
  • Columbus County, North Carolina - southeast
  • Horry County, South Carolina - southeast
  • Marion County, South Carolina - south
  • Florence County, South Carolina - southwest
  • Marlboro County, South Carolina - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge