South Carolina Counties
South Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Carolina Counties

South Carolina is made up of fourty-six counties. They range in size from 392 square miles (1,016 square kilometers) in the case of Calhoun County to 1,358 square miles (3,517 square kilometers) in the case of Charleston County. The least populous county is McCormick County, with only 9,958 residents, while the most populous county is Greenville County, with a population of 395,357, despite the state's most populous city, Columbia, being located in Richland County.

Hampton County, South Carolina

Hampton County Education, Geography, and History

Hampton County, South Carolina Courthouse

Hampton County is a county located in the state of South Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 21,090. Its county seat is Hampton. The name originates from Civil War general Wade Hampton.

Etymology - Origin of Hampton County Name

Hampton is named for Governor of South Carolina Wade Hampton.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hampton County History

Hampton County and its county seat were named for Confederate General and South Carolina Governor Wade Hampton (1818-1902). The county was formed from Beaufort County in 1878, shortly after Wade Hampton took office as governor. Parts of Hampton County later went to form Jasper (1912) and Allendale (1919) counties. During the Civil War, while the coastal areas of Beaufort County were occupied by federal troops, many planters fled to the area that became Hampton County. General Sherman's troops passed through the county in 1865, fighting several skirmishes with Confederate troops. This section of the state has remained primarily agricultural. Athlete Lucile Ellerbe Godbold (1900-1981), who won two gold medals in track and field at the 1922 Olympics, grew up in Hampton County, and writer Vertamae Grosvenor was also born there.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 563 square miles (1,457 km2), of which, 560 square miles (1,450 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) of it (0.51%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Bamberg County, South Carolina - north
  • Colleton County, South Carolina - east
  • Beaufort County, South Carolina - southeast
  • Jasper County, South Carolina - south
  • Effingham County, Georgia - southwest
  • Screven County, Georgia - west
  • Allendale County, South Carolina - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge