South Carolina Counties
South Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Carolina Counties

South Carolina is made up of fourty-six counties. They range in size from 392 square miles (1,016 square kilometers) in the case of Calhoun County to 1,358 square miles (3,517 square kilometers) in the case of Charleston County. The least populous county is McCormick County, with only 9,958 residents, while the most populous county is Greenville County, with a population of 395,357, despite the state's most populous city, Columbia, being located in Richland County.

Jasper County, South Carolina

Jasper County Education, Geography, and History

Jasper County, South Carolina Courthouse

Jasper County is the southernmost county in the state of South Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 24,777. Its county seat is Ridgeland. The county was formed in 1912 from portions of Hampton County and Beaufort County.

Jasper County is included in the Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Beaufort, SC Metropolitan Statistical Area. It is located in the Lowcountry region of the state.

Etymology - Origin of Jasper County Name

Jasper is named for William Jasper, a soldier of the American Revolutionary War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jasper County History

Jasper County was named for Revolutionary War hero Sergeant William Jasper (ca.1750-1779). The county was formed in 1912 from parts of Beaufort and Hampton counties. This area of the state was the home of the Yemassee and Coosaw Indians until colonial times. In 1732 Swiss-German immigrants led by Jean Pierre Purry established a settlement called Purrysburgh on the Savannah River, but the town did not survive. Other settlers built extensive rice plantations, some of which now form the Savannah River National Wildlife Refuge. Two other towns in the county, Coosawhatchie and Pocotaligo, served at different times as the seat of government for Beaufort District. During the Civil War the Confederate Army defeated federal troops at the Battle of Honey Hill in November 1864. Jasper County was home to Thomas Heyward, Jr. (1746-1809), a signer of the Declaration of Independence, and Henry Martyn Robert (1837-1923), author of Robert's Rules of Order.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 700 square miles (1,812 km2), of which, 656 square miles (1,699 km2) of it is land and 44 square miles (113 km2) of it (6.24%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Hampton County, South Carolina - north
  • Beaufort County, South Carolina - east
  • Chatham County, Georgia - south
  • Effingham County, Georgia - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge