South Carolina Counties
South Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Carolina Counties

South Carolina is made up of fourty-six counties. They range in size from 392 square miles (1,016 square kilometers) in the case of Calhoun County to 1,358 square miles (3,517 square kilometers) in the case of Charleston County. The least populous county is McCormick County, with only 9,958 residents, while the most populous county is Greenville County, with a population of 395,357, despite the state's most populous city, Columbia, being located in Richland County.

Marion County, South Carolina

Marion County Education, Geography, and History

Marion County, South Carolina Courthouse

Marion County is a county located in the state of South Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 33,062. Its county seat is Marion. The county was created in 1785 and was originally known as Liberty County. However, four years later it was renamed Marion County, in honor Brigadier General Francis Marion, the famous "Swamp Fox" and a hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Marion County Name

Marion is named for Francis Marion, an American Revolutionary War general known as the "Swamp Fox."


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marion County History

Marion County and its county seat were named for Revolutionary War general Francis Marion (1732-1795), known as the "Swamp Fox." In 1785 Liberty County was created as a part of Georgetown District; renamed Marion, it became a separate district in 1800. Parts of Marion later went to form Florence (1888) and Dillon (1910) counties. English settlers moved up the Great Pee Dee River into this area in the eighteenth century. During the Revolutionary War General Marion's men fought several skirmishes with the British here before retreating to their camp at Snows Island. In the twentieth century Marion County became a major tobacco growing region. Writers Virginia Durant Young (1842-1906) and Gwen Bristow (1903-1980) were natives of Marion County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 494 square miles (1,280 km2), of which, 489 square miles (1,267 km2) of it is land and 5 square miles (13 km2) of it (1.02%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Dillon County, South Carolina - north
  • Horry County, South Carolina - east
  • Georgetown County, South Carolina - south
  • Williamsburg County, South Carolina - southwest
  • Florence County, South Carolina - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge