South Carolina Counties
South Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Carolina Counties

South Carolina is made up of fourty-six counties. They range in size from 392 square miles (1,016 square kilometers) in the case of Calhoun County to 1,358 square miles (3,517 square kilometers) in the case of Charleston County. The least populous county is McCormick County, with only 9,958 residents, while the most populous county is Greenville County, with a population of 395,357, despite the state's most populous city, Columbia, being located in Richland County.

Saluda County, South Carolina

Saluda County Education, Geography, and History

Saluda County, South Carolina Courthouse

Saluda County is a county located in the state of South Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 19,875. Its county seat is Saluda. The county was formed from northern and eastern portions of Edgefield County.

Saluda County is part of the Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Saluda County Name

Saluda is named for the Saluda River, which, in turn, was named for a Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Saluda County History

Saluda County was named for the Saluda River, which forms one of its borders. The county was established in 1895 from part of Edgefield County. The Cherokee Indians lived in this area for many years. In 1755 they signed a treaty with the British at their settlement, known as Saluda Old Town. Scotch-Irish and English settlers subsequently began moving into the area, while the Cherokees moved farther to the north. Two famous heroes of the Alamo, William Barrett Travis (1809-1836) and James Butler Bonham (1807-1836) were natives of what is now Saluda County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 462 square miles (1,196 km2), of which, 452 square miles (1,172 km2) of it is land and 9 square miles (24 km2) of it (2.01%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Newberry County, South Carolina - north
  • Lexington County, South Carolina - east
  • Aiken County, South Carolina - south
  • Edgefield County, South Carolina - southwest
  • Greenwood County, South Carolina - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge