Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Angelina County, Texas

Angelina County Education, Geography, and History

Angelina County, Texas Courthouse

Angelina County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 86,771. Its county seat is Lufkin. The county was formed in 1846 from Nacogdoches County. It is named for a Hasinai Native American woman who assisted early Spanish missionaries and was named Angelina by them. Angelina County is a wet county as of November 2006 wet/dry election. In November 2007 the small community of Burke was the only city in Angelina county to return to dry status.

The Lufkin, TX Micropolitan Statistical Area includes all of Angelina County.

Etymology - Origin of Angelina County Name

A Hainai Native American woman who assisted early Spanish missionaries and was named Angelina by them; Angelina County is the only county in Texas named for a woman


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Angelina County History

Angelina County was formed in 1846 from Nacogdoches County. Its county seat is Lufkin. Angelina is named for a Hainai Native American woman who assisted early Spanish missionaries and was named Angelina by them.

Handbook of Texas Online
Settlement was still thin when Texas won its independence. Angelina County was organized on April 22, 1846, when Nacogdoches County was divided. The first permanent settler after the county was formed is thought to have been George W. Collins. The population increased quickly thereafter due to the good farming land and to the rivers, which made steamboat transportation possible. The population reached 1,165, 196 of whom were slaves, in 1850. The first county seat was Marion; successively, Jonesville became county seat in 1854, Homer in 1858, and Lufkin in 1892. Lufkin was favored by the route of the Houston, East and West Texas Railway (now the Southern Pacific), which had been built in 1882 from Houston to Shreveport. More at
Megan Biesele, "ANGELINA COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hca03), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 9, 2010. Modified on January 22, 2016. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 864 square miles (2,239 km2), of which, 802 square miles (2,076 km2) of it is land and 63 square miles (163 km2) of it (7.28%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Nacogdoches County (north)
  • San Augustine County (northeast)
  • Jasper County (southeast)
  • Tyler County (south)
  • Polk County (southwest)
  • Trinity County (west)
  • Houston County (west)
  • Cherokee County (northwest)


Angelina College serves Angelina County.

Stephen F. Austin State University is located in nearby Nacogdoches (Nacogdoches is located in neighboring Nacogdoches County).

The following school districts serve Angelina County:

Central Independent School District
Colmesneil Independent School District (partly)
Diboll Independent School District
Hudson Independent School District
Huntington Independent School District
Lufkin Independent School District
Wells Independent School District (partly)
Zavalla Independent School District

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge