Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Aransas County, Texas

Aransas County Education, Geography, and History

Aransas County, Texas Courthouse

Aransas County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 23,158. Its county seat is Rockport. The county was formed in 1871 from Refugio County and organized the following year. It was named for the Rio Nuestra Senora de Aranzazu, a Spanish outpost in early Texas.

Aransas County is part of the Corpus Christi Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Aransas County Name

the Rio Nuestra Senora de Aranzazu, a Spanish outpost in early Texas


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Aransas County History

Aransas County was formed in 1871 from Refugio County and named after Rio Nuestra Senora de Aranzazu, a Spanish outpost in early Texas.

The first European to see this land was probably Alonso Alvarez de Pineda, who sailed along the coast of Texas in the summer of 1519 and who also discovered the Aransas Bay.

Handbook of Texas Online
In March 1871, because the great cattle boom had established it as the most important town in the area, Rockport became county seat of Refugio County. On September 18 of the same year, the legislature voted to divide the county and designated much of the coastal area as a new county named Aransas. Rockport was made the county seat, and on March 26, 1872, the county commissioners' court met for the first time in a rented frame house. More at
Christopher Long, "ARANSAS COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hca04), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 9, 2010. Modified on January 22, 2016. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 528 square miles (1,367 km2), of which, 252 square miles (652 km2) of it is land and 276 square miles (715 km2) of it (52.29%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Calhoun County (northeast)
  • Gulf of Mexico (southeast)
  • Nueces County (south)
  • San Patricio County (west)
  • Refugio County (northwest)


Most county residents, including the cities of Rockport and Fulton, are served by the Aransas County Independent School District.

Some residents (including the city of Aransas Pass, which is actually outside of the county) are served by the Aransas Pass Independent School District.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge