Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Archer County, Texas

Archer County Education, Geography, and History

Archer County, Texas Courthouse

 Archer County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 9,054. Its county seat is Archer City. The county was formed in 1858 and later organized in 1880. It is named for Branch Tanner Archer, a commissioner for the Republic of Texas.

Archer County is part of the Wichita Falls, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Archer County Name

Branch Tanner Archer, a commissioner for the Republic of Texas


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Archer County History

Archer County is a county located in the US state of Texas, and was formed in 1858 from Fannin County. Archer is named for Branch Tanner Archer, a commissioner for the Republic of Texas.

Handbook of Texas Online
In November 1879 farmers combined with the small ranchers in Archer County and presented a petition to the commissioners' court of Clay County calling for the political organization of Archer County. Larger cattle interests, bitterly opposed to organization, protested and delayed the process, but in the spring of 1880 the court ordered an election. Archer County was organized on July 27 of that year. More at
Monte Lewis, "ARCHER COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hca05), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 9, 2010. Modified on January 22, 2016. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 926 square miles (2,398 km2), of which, 910 square miles (2,356 km2) of it is land and 16 square miles (42 km2) of it (1.74%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wichita County (north)
  • Clay County (east)
  • Jack County (southeast)
  • Young County (south)
  • Baylor County (west)


The following school districts serve Archer County:

Archer City Independent School District
Holliday Independent School District
Iowa Park Consolidated Independent School District (partial)
Jacksboro Independent School District (partial)
Olney Independent School District (partial)
Windthorst Independent School District

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge