Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Atascosa County, Texas

Atascosa County Education, Geography, and History

Atascosa County, Texas Courthouse

Atascosa County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 44,911. Its county seat is Jourdanton. The county was formed in 1856 from Bexar County and is named for the Atascosa River.

Atascosa County is part of the San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Atascosa County Name

the Spanish word for boggy


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Atascosa County History

Atascosa County is a county located in the US state of Texas, and was formed in 1856 from Bexar County. Atascosa is named for the Atascosa River.

Handbook of Texas Online
The area was sparsely settled by the mid-1850s, and in 1856 the county was marked off from Bexar County. The first county seat, Navatasco, was established in 1857 on land donated by Navarro. Among the county's early settlers were Peter Tumlinson,qv who organized one of the first Ranger companies in the state in 1836, Indian fighter Thomas Rodriguez, George F. Hindes, Marshall Burney, and Eli Johnson. In 1858 Pleasanton, a newly founded community, became county seat, and a new courthouse was constructed. Settlers continued to trickle in, but the threat of Indian attack, poor roads, and the area's general isolation kept the population low. More at
Linda Peterson, "ATASCOSA COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hca07), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 9, 2010. Modified on January 22, 2016. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,236 square miles (3,200 km2), of which, 1,232 square miles (3,191 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (9 km2) of it (0.28%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Bexar County (north)
  • Wilson County (northeast)
  • Karnes County (east)
  • Live Oak County (southeast)
  • McMullen County (south)
  • La Salle County (southwest)
  • Frio County (west)
  • Medina County (northwest)


The following school districts serve Atascosa County:

Charlotte Independent School District (partially)
Jourdanton Independent School District
Karnes City Independent School District (partially)
Lytle Independent School District (partially)
Pleasanton Independent School District
Poteet Independent School District
Somerset Independent School District (partially)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge