Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Brazoria County, Texas

Brazoria County Education, Geography, and History

Brazoria County, Texas Courthouse

Brazoria County is a county in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population of the county was 313,166. The county seat is Angleton.

Brazoria County is included in the Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area. It is located in the Gulf Coast region of Texas.

Etymology - Origin of Brazoria County Name

the Brazos River (along with Brazos County)


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Brazoria County History

Brazoria County, like nearby Brazos County, takes its name from the Brazos River, which flows through it. Anglo-Texas began in Brazoria County when the first of Stephen F. Austin's authorized 300 American settlers arrived at the mouth of the Brazos River in 1821. Many of the events leading to the Texas Revolution developed in Brazoria County. In 1832, Brazoria was organized as a separate municipal district by the Mexican government, and so became one of Texas original counties at independence in 1836. The largest city is Pearland and the county seat is Angleton.

Stephen F. Austin's original burial place was located at a church cemetery (Gulf Prairie Presbyterian) in the town of Jones Creek, but was more recently exhumed and brought to the state capital in Austin. Also, the town of West Columbia served as the first capital of Texas, dating back to pre-revolutionary days. Angleton was established in 1890, and named after the wife of manager of the Velasco Terminal Railway. Brazoria, which became county seat when the county was organized on December 20, 1836, served until 1896, when Angleton replaced it.

Handbook of Texas Online
Under the provisional government, Texas accepted the constitution that made its first counties from former municipalities. Brazoria County, among the first, took its name from the Brazos River when the Congress of the republic established it on March 24, 1836. Brazoria, which became county seat when the county was organized on December 20, 1836, served until 1896, when Angleton replaced it. The establishment of Fort Bend County in 1837 and of Galveston County in 1838 drew the present county boundaries, and the towns of Columbia, Velasco, and Brazoria were incorporated by the Congress of the republic in 1837. More at
Diana J. Kleiner, "BRAZORIA COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcb12), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on August 7, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Harris County (north)
  • Galveston County (northeast)
  • Matagorda County (southwest)
  • Wharton County (west)
  • Fort Bend County (northwest)


A variety of school districts serve Brazoria County students. They include:

Alvin ISD
Angleton ISD
Brazosport ISD
Columbia-Brazoria ISD
Danbury ISD
Damon ISD (K-8)
Pearland ISD
Sweeny ISD
Alvin Community College and Brazosport College serve as higher education facilities.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge