Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Brooks County, Texas

Brooks County Education, Geography, and History

Brooks County, Texas Courthouse

Brooks County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,223. Its county seat is Falfurrias. The county is named for James Abijah Brooks, a Texas Ranger and legislator.

Etymology - Origin of Brooks County Name

John Abijah Brooks, a Texas Ranger and legislator


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Brooks County History

Formed from Hidalgo, Starr and Zapata counties, created March 11, 1911; organized September 2, 1911. Its county seat is Falfurrias. Named in honor of James Abijah Brooks, Captain of Texas Rangers, 1882-1906, member of Texas Legislature, County Judge, Brooks County since 1911.

The Brooks County courthouse was designed by Alfred Giles, the British-born architect who had established a practice in San Antonio and eventually designed eleven Texas courthouses, seven of which survive today.

Handbook of Texas Online
After Texas independence the area was made part of San Patricio County. In 1846 San Patricio County was divided to form Nueces County, which in 1848 was divided to form Cameron, Webb, and Starr counties; from the latter two counties Brooks County was later formed. More at
Alicia A. Garza, "BROOKS COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcb16), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 944 square miles (2,444 km2), of which, 943 square miles (2,443 km2) of it is land and 0 square miles (1 km2) of it (0.03%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Jim Wells County (north)
  • Kleberg County (northeast)
  • Kenedy County (east)
  • Hidalgo County (south)
  • Starr County (southwest)
  • Jim Hogg County (west)
  • Duval County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge