Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Cass County, Texas

Cass County Education, Geography, and History

Cass County, Texas Courthouse

Cass County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 30,464. The county seat is Linden. The county was named for Lewis Cass, a senator from Michigan who favored the annexation of Texas.

Etymology - Origin of Cass County Name

Lewis Cass, a senator and future presidential candidate from Michigan who had favored the annexation of Texas to the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cass County History

Cass County is a county located in the US state of Texas. The seat of the county is Linden. Cass County was created April 25, 1846; organized July 13, 1846, from sections of Bowie County. It was named for Lewis Cass, a US Senator from Michigan who had favored the annexation of Texas to the United States. During wave of sectional patriotism in 1861, the name "Cass" was changed to "Davis", in honor of Jefferson Davis, president of the Confederate states. The original name was restored in 1871  (It should not be confused with the still extant Jeff Davis County in west Texas.)

Important river port city of Jefferson was the original county seat until Marion County was carved out of Cass in 1860; Linden, near center of county, then became county seat.

Handbook of Texas Online
Anglo settlement in the area that became Cass County began in the 1830s. Among the earliest settlers was Reece Hughes, who built a cabin near three mineral springs which later became known as Hughes Springs. The county was formed from Bowie County in 1846. Jefferson was chosen as the first county seat, but, after several fiercely contested elections, in 1852 Linden became county seat. The county's boundaries were reduced in 1860 with the formation of Marion County, but, with the exception of small adjustments, have remained unchanged since that time. The county was originally named Cass County in honor of Lewis Cass, a United States Senator from Michigan who had favored the annexation of Texas. During the secession crisis Cass, who had formerly been known as a Northern man with Southern principles, resigned his post as secretary of state when President James Buchanan declined to defend the federal forts in Charleston, South Carolina. When word of his actions reached Texas, the name of the county was changed to Davis in honor of Jefferson Davis. The republican-controlled state legislature of 1871 changed the name back to Cass. More at
Cecil Harper, Jr., "CASS COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcc07), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 960 square miles (2,487 km2), of which, 937 square miles (2,428 km2) of it is land and 23 square miles (60 km2) of it (2.39%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Bowie County (north)
  • Miller County, Arkansas (northeast)
  • Caddo Parish, Louisiana (southeast)
  • Marion County (south)
  • Morris County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge