Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Comal County, Texas

Comal County Education, Geography, and History

Comal County, Texas Courthouse

Comal County is a county located on the Edwards Plateau in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 108,472. Its county seat is New Braunfels.

Comal County is part of the San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Comal County Name

the Comal River; the name means basin or flat dish in Spanish


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Comal County History

Comal County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its seat is New Braunfels.

Handbook of Texas Online
Permanent settlement of the county began in 1845, when Prince Carl of Solms-Braunfels secured title to 1,265 acres of the Veramendi grant, including the Comal springs and river, for the Adelsverein. In succeeding years thousands of Germans and Americans were attracted to the rich farm and ranch land around New Braunfels. Settlement progressed rapidly; in March 1846 the Texas legislature formed Comal County from the Eighth Precinct of Bexar County and made New Braunfels the county seat. The final boundary determination was made in 1858 with the separation of part of western Comal County to Blanco and Kendall counties. The first county elections were held on July 13, 1846. It is estimated that in 1850 New Braunfels was the fourth largest city in Texas. In 1854 the county commissioners divided the county into eight public school districts, and in 1858, long before they were required by law to do so, New Braunfels citizens voted to collect a tax for support of public schools. The population of the county grew 133 percent between 1850 and 1860, and numbered more than 4,000 on the eve of the Civil War.
More at
Daniel P. Greene, "COMAL COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcc19), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 575 square miles (1,488 km2), of which, 561 square miles (1,454 km2) of it is land and 13 square miles (34 km2) of it (2.29%) is water.

The Balcones Escarpment runs northeastward through the county, generally just west of Interstate 35. West of the escarpment are the rocky hills and canyons of the Texas Hill Country; to the east are the rolling grasslands of the coastal plains.

The Guadalupe River flows generally southeastward through the county, and is impounded by Canyon Lake. The Comal River rises from the Comal Springs in New Braunfels, and quickly joins the Guadalupe River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Blanco County (north)
  • Hays County (northeast)
  • Guadalupe County (southeast)
  • Bexar County (southwest)
  • Kendall County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge