Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Fayette County, Texas

Fayette County Education, Geography, and History

Fayette County, Texas Courthouse

Fayette County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 24,554. Its county seat is La Grange. The county was created in 1837 and organized the next year.

Etymology - Origin of Fayette County Name

Marie-Joseph-Paul-Roch-Yves-Gilbert Du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette, the French hero of the American Revolutionary War


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fayette County History

Fayette County was established in 1837 from land given by Bastrop and Colorado counties. It is named for the Marquis de la Fayette, a French nobleman who became an American Revolutionary War hero.Its county seat is La Grange.

Handbook of Texas Online
Prior to European settlement Lipan Apaches and Tonkawa Indians inhabited parts of what is now Fayette County. Many Indian artifacts have been found, especially along the Colorado River and near Round Top. A few miles north of the Colorado River, above Little Pin Oak Creek, a stratified multicomponent campsite was found, with Clovis, Plainview, and other later artifacts. In the early eighteenth century Spanish explorers passed through the area. La Bah? Road, which ran southwest to northeast and crossed the river at the site of present La Grange, was the major route for travel during the Mexican period. The area was part of Stephen F. Austin's first colony, but the earliest known white settlers, Aylett C. Buckner and Peter Powell, arrived earlier and lived on La Bah? Road west of La Grange, where they ran a trading post. Formal settlement began in 1822 with the arrival of the Austin colonists. From 1824 to 1828 ten members of the Old Three Hundred received title to their land grants in the fertile Colorado River valley; William Rabb received four leagues in order to build a mill. A total of ninety-two Mexican land grants were granted in the area that is now Fayette County. The earliest settlers gathered at Wood's Fort, Moore's Fort (La Grange), the James Ross home, and Jesse Burnam's blockhouse, twelve miles below La Grange. Burnam's Ferry on the Colorado River provided a cutoff route from La Bah? Road to San Felipe. Prior to Texas independence, the area above La Bah? Road was in the Mina Municipality and the area below in the Municipality of Colorado. Gotier's Trace, the Wilbarger Trace, and the La Grange-San Felipe road intersected La Bah? Road. Ferries were used to cross the Colorado River until the first bridge was built at La Grange by private subscription in 1883. On December 14, 1837, upon petition of the citizens, the Congress of the Republic of Texas established the county of Fayette, named in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette. La Grange, the name of the chateau to which Lafayette retired, was designated the county seat. The citizens organized the county government on January 18, 1838, and the southwestern boundary of the county was extended westward on May 3, 1838. The county lost territory in the south to Lavaca County in 1854 and in the north to Lee County in 1874. More at
Daphne Dalton Garrett, "FAYETTE COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcf03), accessed January 23, 2016. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Modified on November 24, 2015. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 960 square miles (2,486 km2), of which, 950 square miles (2,461 km2) of it is land and 10 square miles (25 km2) of it (1.02%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Lee County (north)
  • Washington County (northeast)
  • Austin County (east)
  • Colorado County (southeast)
  • Lavaca County (south)
  • Gonzales County (southwest)
  • Caldwell County (west)
  • Bastrop County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge