Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Houston County, Texas

Houston County Education, Geography, and History

Houston County, Texas Courthouse

Houston County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 23,732. Its county seat is Crockett. The county is named for Sam Houston, a president of the Republic of Texas and Governor of Texas

Etymology - Origin of Houston County Name

Sam Houston, one of the most important figures in the history of Texas, having won Texas its complete independence at the Battle of San Jacinto, as well as being the second and fourth president of the Republic of Texas and seventh governor of Texas


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Houston County History

Houston County was the first new county created under the 9-year Republic of Texas on June 12, 1837. The original boundaries of Houston County also included all of present-day Anderson and Trinity Counties, and portions of present-day Henderson and Polk Counties. Its county seat is Crockett. Houston County is named for Samuel Houston, one of the most important figures in the history of Texas, president of the Republic of Texas and Governor of Texas.

Houston County has no relationship with the city of Houston, which is located approximately 150 miles (260 km) to the south, in Harris County.

Handbook of Texas Online
In 1837 the boundaries of Houston County were laid out and its government was organized. It was named for President Sam Houston, who signed the order establishing the county on June 12, 1837. Upon its formation from Nacogdoches County in 1837, Houston County included the territory that later became Trinity and Anderson counties and part of Henderson County. Land was donated for the county seat by Andrew E. Gossett, who named it for his father's friend and former Tennessee neighbor, David Crockett. Collin Aldrich was first chief justice; George Aldrich, county surveyor; James Madden, sheriff; and Stephen White, clerk of the district court. More at
Eliza H. Bishop, "HOUSTON COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch19), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on November 24, 2015. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,237 square miles (3,203 km2), of which, 1,231 square miles (3,188 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (15 km2) of it (0.48%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Anderson County (north)
  • Cherokee County (northeast)
  • Angelina County (east)
  • Trinity County (southeast)
  • Walker County (south)
  • Madison County (southwest)
  • Leon County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge