Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Hunt County, Texas

Hunt County Education, Geography, and History

Hunt County, Texas Courthouse

Hunt County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 86,129. Its county seat is Greenville. The county is named for Memucan Hunt, Jr., the first Republic of Texas Minister to United States from 1837 to 1838 and the third Texas Secretary of the Navy from 1838 to 1839.

Hunt County is part of the Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Hunt County Name

Memucan Hunt, Jr., a secretary of the navy under the Republic of Texas


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hunt County History

Hunt County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its seat is Greenville. Hunt County is named for Memucan Hunt, a secretary of the navy of the Republic of Texas

Handbook of Texas Online
Although the Mexican government made a few land grants in the area of Hunt County in 1835, settlement did not begin until 1839. When Anglo-American settlers first arrived, the area was inhabited by small bands of Kiowa Indians, who left shortly thereafter and posed few problems for the settlers. Settlement remained sparse during the years of the republic and early statehood. An estimated 350 people lived in the county when it was formed from Fannin and Nacogdoches counties in 1846 and named for Memucan Hunt, the first Texas minister to Washington. Greenville, established on land donated by McQuinney H. Wright and James G. Bourland, became the county seat. The original county boundaries were reduced by the establishment of Rains County in 1870, but afterward remained unchanged. More at
Cecil Harper, Jr., "HUNT COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch22), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 882 square miles (2,284 km2), of which, 841 square miles (2,179 km2) of it is land and 41 square miles (106 km2) of it (4.63%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Fannin County (north)
  • Delta County (northeast)
  • Hopkins County (east)
  • Rains County (southeast)
  • Van Zandt County (south)
  • Kaufman County (south)
  • Rockwall County (southwest)
  • Collin County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge