Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Jackson County, Texas

Jackson County Education, Geography, and History

Jackson County, Texas Courthouse

Jackson County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 14,075. Its county seat is Edna The county was created in 1835 as a municipality in Mexico and in 1836 was organized as a county (of the Republic of Texas). It is named for Andrew Jackson, President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.

Etymology - Origin of Jackson County Name

Andrew Jackson, the seventh president of the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jackson County History

Jackson County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its county seat is Edna. Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.

Handbook of Texas Online
Jackson County (N-19), on US Highway 59 in the Coastal Prairies region southwest of Houston, borders both Lavaca Bay and Carancahua Bay and is bounded by Calhoun, Victoria, Lavaca, Colorado, Wharton, and Matagorda counties. Edna, the county's largest town, is the county seat. The county's center lies at 28057' north latitude and 96035' west longitude. Elevation ranges from sea level to 150 feet. Jackson County, one of the original counties of Texas, was formed in 1836 from the old Mexican municipality of Jackson. Both the municipality and the county were named after President Andrew Jackson and were settled predominantly by American colonists. Jackson County comprises 844 square miles. Most of the county has loamy surfaces with clayey subsoils or gray to black, cracking, clayey soils. In the northwestern third, the prairie is surfaced by light-colored and loamy soils with deep reddish subsoils. Marsh millet, salt grass, and cordgrass thrive in the marsh areas; mesquite covers much of the prairie. Between 41 and 50 percent of Jackson County land is deemed prime farmland. With an average annual temperature of 700, the county has a subtropical, humid climate. Tropical storms and hurricanes are possible from June through October. Temperatures in January vary from an average low of 430 F to an average high of 630 and in July range from 750 to 940. The average annual rainfall is forty inches. The growing season averages 285 days; the first freeze normally occurs in early December and the last in late February. More at
Stephen L. Hardin, "JACKSON COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcj02), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 857 square miles (2,220 km2), of which, 829 square miles (2,148 km2) of it is land and 28 square miles (72 km2) of it (3.21%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Colorado County (north)
  • Wharton County (northeast)
  • Matagorda County (southeast)
  • Calhoun County (south)
  • Victoria County (southwest)
  • Lavaca County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge