Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Lavaca County, Texas

Lavaca County Education, Geography, and History

Lavaca County, Texas Courthouse

Lavaca County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 19,263. Its county seat is Hallettsville. The county was created in 1846. It is named for the Lavaca River which curves its way South East through Moulton and Hallettsville before reaching the coast at Matagorda Bay.

Etymology - Origin of Lavaca County Name

the Lavaca River; la vaca is Spanish for the cow


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lavaca County History

Lavaca County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its county seat is Hallettsville. The county is named for the Lavaca River.

Handbook of Texas Online
Indian raids, particularly by the Comanches and Tonkawas, were common in the late 1830s, but several defeats forced the Indians to withdraw to the west, and after 1841 the attacks ceased. In 1842 the Republic of Texas Congress established a judicial county from portions of Fayette, Colorado, Jackson, Victoria, and Gonzales counties and named it La Baca County. In 1846 the area was renamed Lavaca County, and it became a regularly constituted county with 140 taxpayers. Petersburg and Hallettsville vied to be county seat, and after two hotly contested elections Hallettsville won the contest in 1852; only by force of arms, however, were the men of Hallettsville able to liberate the county records from Petersburg. More at
Christopher Long, "LAVACA COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcl05), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on November 23, 2015. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 970 square miles (2,513 km2), of which, 969 square miles (2,512 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (1 km2) of it (0.05%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Fayette County (north)
  • Colorado County (northeast)
  • Jackson County (southeast)
  • Victoria County (south)
  • DeWitt County (southwest)
  • Gonzales County (northwest)


The following school public school districts are located in Lavaca County.

Hallettsville Independent School District
Moulton Independent School District
Shiner Independent School District
Sweet Home Independent School District
Vysehrad Independent School District
Yoakum Independent School District

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge