Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Madison County, Texas

Madison County Education, Geography, and History

Madison County, Texas Courthouse

Madison County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 13,664. Its seat is Madisonville. The county was created in 1853 and organized the next year. It is named for James Madison, the fourth president of the United States

Etymology - Origin of Madison  County Name

James Madison, the fourth president of the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Madison County History

Madison County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its seat is Madisonville, and it is named for James Madison, the fourth president of the United States

The current Madison County Courthouse was built in 1970. It is at least the fifth courthouse to serve Madison County

Handbook of Texas Online
The judicial Madison County was formed on February 2, 1842, from Montgomery County. (Judicial counties were later declared unconstitutional because they had no legislative representation.) Because residents of the northern parts of Walker and Grimes counties lived forty to fifty miles from their county seats, they petitioned the legislature for the establishment of a new county. The formation of Madison County from Grimes, Walker, and Leon counties was approved on January 27, 1853, and organization followed on August 7, 1854. Kittrell was instrumental in this effort, and became the county's first representative in the legislature. He selected the site for the county seat, which was preferred because of its central location; he named the county and its seat for the nation's fourth president, James Madison. Dr. Kittrell was also Sam Houston's physician and was in attendance at the general's death. More at
Ann E. Hodges, "MADISON COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcm01), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 472 square miles (1,224 km2), of which, 470 square miles (1,216 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (8 km2) of it (0.59%) is water.

The county has three natural borders: its eastern boundary is defined by the Trinity River, its western boundary is defined by the Navasota River, and it's the portion of its southern border adjacent to Walker County is defined by Bedias Creek.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Leon County (north)
  • Houston County (northeast)
  • Walker County (southeast)
  • Grimes County (south)
  • Brazos County (southwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge