Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Morris County, Texas

Morris County Education, Geography, and History

Morris County, Texas Courthouse

Morris County is a county located near the eastern border of the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 12,934. Its county seat is Daingerfield. Morris County is probably named for William Wright Morris, an early judge and planter from Henderson, also in northeast Texas.

Etymology - Origin of Morris County Name

uncertain, most likely William Wright Morris, a legislator and planter in the area


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Morris County History

Morris County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its seat is Daingerfield. Morris County is probably named for William Wright Morris, an early judge and planter from Henderson.

Handbook of Texas Online
Before the existence of Morris County, five counties included all or part of its territory. In 1820 the area was organized as Miller County, Arkansas. In 1836 the tract became Red River County of the Republic of Texas. In January 1841 the Congress of the republic established Paschal County for judicial and other purposes and designated Daingerfield county seat. The act establishing Paschal County was ruled unconstitutional by the Supreme Court the next year because it did not provide the county with representation in the legislature. Subsequently, part of what was to become Morris County became part of Red River County, and the rest of the area was part of Bowie County. In 1846 the First Legislature of the state of Texas established Titus County, which included all of the territory in present Morris County. Morris County was demarked from Titus County on March 13, 1875, and probably named for William W. Morris. The county was organized on May 12, 1875, with Daingerfield as the county seat. Periodic unsuccessful attempts have been made to make another town county seat. More at
Cecil Harper, Jr., "MORRIS COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcm19), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 259 square miles (670 km2), of which, 255 square miles (659 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (11 km2) of it (1.60%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Bowie County (north)
  • Cass County (east)
  • Marion County (southeast)
  • Upshur County (south)
  • Camp County (southwest)
  • Titus County (west)
  • Red River County (northwest)


The following school districts serve Morris County:

Daingerfield-Lone Star ISD (small portion in Titus County)
Hughes Springs ISD (mostly in Cass County)
Pewitt CISD (small portions in Titus and Cass counties)

Morris County is also served by the Northeast Texas Community College, whose main campus is in southeastern Titus County, but it has a small satellite campus in Naples.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge