Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Nacogdoches County, Texas

Nacogdoches County Education, Geography, and History

Nacogdoches County, Texas Courthouse

Nacogdoches County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 64,524. Its county seat is Nacogdoches. The county was created in 1826 as a municipality of Mexico and organized as a county in 1837.

The Nacogdoches, TX Micropolitan Statistical Area includes all of Nacogdoches County.

Etymology - Origin of Nacogdoches County Name

the Nacogdoches Native American tribe


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Nacogdoches County History

Nacogdoches County (pronounced [ˌn?#720;kəˈdoʊtʃɪs]) is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its county seat is Nacogdoches. The Nacogdoches Micropolitan Statistical Area includes all of Nacogdoches County.

Handbook of Texas Online
As the clouds of revolution gathered in 1835, Henry Rueg, political chief of the Department of Nacogdoches, called a meeting at which Frost Thorn, Thomas J. Rusk, and others were appointed to form the Nacogdoches Committee of Vigilance and Safety. The committee organized a militia and collected arms and provisions for the revolution. During the winter of 1835-36 hundreds of volunteers poured through the area on their way south to fight for independence. During the Runaway Scrape in 1836 the area was virtually abandoned once again, but with the defeat of Antonio L?ez de Santa Anna at the battle of San Jacinto the residents of Nacogdoches and the surrounding region returned en masse. Immediately after the Texas Revolution the municipalities within the Nacogdoches Department, Liberty, Jefferson, Jasper, Sabine, San Augustine, and Shelby, were established as counties of the Republic of Texas. The remaining area east of the Trinity River was designated Nacogdoches County on March 17, 1836. In April 1846 the county was further subdivided into what would eventually become all or part of twenty other counties: Anderson, Angelina, Camp, Cherokee, Dallas, Delta, Gregg, Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, Hunt, Kaufman, Raines, Rockwall, Rusk, Smith, Trinity, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood. More at
Christopher Long, "NACOGDOCHES COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcn01), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on February 3, 2011. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 981 square miles (2,542 km2), of which, 947 square miles (2,452 km2) of it is land and 35 square miles (90 km2) of it (3.52%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Rusk County (north)
  • Shelby County (northeast)
  • San Augustine County (southeast)
  • Angelina County (south)
  • Cherokee County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge