Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Polk County, Texas

Polk County Education, Geography, and History

Polk County, Texas Courthouse

Polk County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 45,413. Its county seat is Livingston. The county is named for James Knox Polk, the eleventh president of the United States, who was President when Texas became a state through annexation.

Etymology - Origin of Polk County Name

James Knox Polk, the eleventh president of the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Polk County History

Polk County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its county seat is Livingston. Polk County is named for James Knox Polk, the eleventh president of the United States.

The Alabama-Coushatta Indian Reservation is in Eastern Polk County

Handbook of Texas Online
Polk County, named after President James K. Polk, was one of twenty-three counties formed by the first state legislature of Texas in 1846. The boundaries established on March 30 closely followed those of the old northern division of Liberty Municipality, a subdivision of the Department of Nacogdoches established by the Mexican government in 1830. On August 13, 1870, the part of Polk County west of the Trinity became San Jacinto County. The present area of Polk County was fixed on March 11, 1875, when a portion of Trinity County was annexed. Livingston, formerly Springfield, was selected by a vote as the county seat in 1846, and the first commissioners' court met there in September. The town is still the county seat. The new county filled rapidly with American settlers between 1835 and 1860. The first communities were concentrated on the Trinity River, but others quickly appeared along the primary creeks. Important pioneers include Pierre J. Menard, who represented Liberty Municipality in the Consultation at San Felipe, and George T. Wood, governor of Texas from 1847 to 1849 More at
Richard B. McCaslin, "POLK COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcp06), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,110 square miles (2,874 km2), of which, 1,057 square miles (2,738 km2) of it is land and 53 square miles (136 km2) of it (4.74%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Angelina County (north)
  • Tyler County (east)
  • Hardin County (southeast)
  • Liberty County (south)
  • San Jacinto County (southwest)
  • Trinity County (northwest)


Polk County College is being built in Livingston and will be operated by Angelina College. It will offer a full two-year college curriculum and some four-year college courses.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge