Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Red River County, Texas

Red River County Education, Geography, and History

Red River County, Texas Courthouse

Red River County is a county located in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 12,860. Its county seat is Clarksville. The county was created in 1835 and organized in 1837. It is named for the Red River, which forms its northern boundary.

Etymology - Origin of Red River County Name

the Red River, which forms its northern border


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Red River County History

Red River County is a county located in the US state of Texas. It is named for the Red River, which forms its northern boundary. Its seat is Clarksville.

Handbook of Texas Online
During the First Congress of the Republic of Texas, the Red River district was little more than a vaguely defined area encompassing all or part of the land of thirty-nine present counties. Red River County was formally delineated by an act signed by President Sam Houston on December 14, 1837, which divided the Red River District into two counties, Fannin and Red River. Red River County, as defined by the 1837 act, included all or part of lands now belonging to Lamar, Hopkins, Delta, Franklin, Titus, Morris, Cass, Marion, and Bowie counties. The act called for the first county courts to be held at LaGrange (later Madras) until a commission to be appointed by the county court could ascertain the proper location for a county seat. When the commissioners chose Clarksville in 1838, some residents of LaGrange tried unsuccessfully to reverse the ruling. New counties established in 1840 and 1846 reduced Red River County to its current size. From its founding the county grew in population slowly but steadily. By 1860 residents numbered 8,535. As in many other parts of North Texas, problems with adequate transportation probably served to inhibit the county's growth. The Red River was generally navigable for a part of the year, but when the river was low, produce and supplies had to be hauled to and from Jefferson, 100 miles to the southeast. The population of the county was overwhelmingly rural. More at
Cecil Harper, Jr., "RED RIVER COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcr05), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,058 square miles (2,739 km2), of which, 1,050 square miles (2,720 km2) of it is land and 7 square miles (19 km2) of it (0.70%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • McCurtain County, Oklahoma (north)
  • Bowie County (east)
  • Morris County (southeast)
  • Titus County (south)
  • Franklin County (southwest)
  • Delta County (southwest, a very short border)
  • Lamar County (west)
  • Choctaw County, Oklahoma (northwest)


The following school districts serve Red River County:

Avery ISD
Clarksville ISD
Detroit ISD
Prairiland ISD (mostly in Lamar County)
Rivercrest ISD (partly in Titus County, small portion in Franklin County)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge