Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Titus County, Texas

Titus County Education, Geography, and History

Titus County, Texas Courthouse

Titus County is a county located in the northeastern region of the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 32,334. Its county seat is Mount Pleasant. The county is named for Andrew Jackson Titus, an early settler.

Titus County comprises the Mount Pleasant, TX Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Titus County Name

Andrew Jackson Titus, a state legislator and planter


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Titus County History

Titus County is a county located in the US state of Texas. Its county seat is Mount Pleasant. The county is named for Andrew Jackson Titus, an early settler.

Handbook of Texas Online
The area that makes up Titus County has been the site of human habitation for several thousand years, although perhaps not continuously. Archaic Period (ca. 5000 B.C.-A.D. 500) artifacts have been recovered. During historic times, the earliest occupants of the county were the Caddo Indians, an agricultural people with a highly developed culture. During the 1820s and 1830s white settlements elsewhere in Texas prompted other Indians, such as Creeks, Choctaws, and Cherokees, to settle in the area. In the 1840s white settlers gradually displaced the Indians. Earliest European exploration of the area that would become Titus County cannot be conclusively determined. If one of the northernmost of the numerous conflicting route interpretations of the Moscoso expedition in 1542 is correct, then that group passed through or very near Titus County. It could be, however, that the first European contact with the area did not occur until after the founding of Le Poste des Cadodaquious in what is now Bowie County by the French in 1719. Although the French occupied the fort for more than fifty years, little is known about their activities. It seems probable, however, that they did explore as far to the southwest as Titus County. The earliest Anglo settler in what is now Titus County is said to have been Kendall Lewis, who moved into the county in 1835 with his wife, probably a Creek Indian. Lewis's land grant, patented in February 1842, is said to have been the first land surveyed in the county. The family settled on Swauano Creek and remained in the county until problems with Indians caused the Lewises to leave the state in 1846. During the early 1840s settlement of the area proceeded rapidly, and in 1846 the First Legislature of the state of Texas established Titus County, which included all of the territory of present-day Morris and Franklin counties. The county was named for Andrew Jackson Titus, an early Red River County settler. Mount Pleasant was established as the county seat. More at
Cecil Harper, Jr., "TITUS COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hct06), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 426 square miles (1,103 km2), of which, 411 square miles (1,063 km2) of it is land and 15 square miles (40 km2) of it (3.56%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Red River County (north)
  • Morris County (east)
  • Camp County (south)
  • Franklin County (west)


The following school districts serve Titus County:

Chapel Hill ISD
Daingerfield-Lone Star ISD (mostly in Morris County)
Harts Bluff ISD
Mount Pleasant ISD
Pewitt CISD (mostly in Morris County, small portion in Cass County)
Rivercrest ISD (partly in Red River County, small portion in Franklin County)
Winfield ISD

In addition, Northeast Texas Community College serves Titus County, as well as neighboring Morris and Camp counties.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge