Texas Counties
Texas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Texas Counties

Texas is divided into two hundred and fifty-four counties, more than any other state. Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule. When the Republic of Texas gained its independence in 1836, there were 23 municipalities, which became the original Texas counties. Many of these would later be divided into new counties. The most recent county to be created was Kenedy County in 1921. The most recent county to be organized was Loving County in 1931

Washington County, Texas

Washington County Education, Geography, and History

Washington County, Texas Courthouse

Washington County is a county in the state of Texas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 33,718. Its county seat is Brenham, which is located on the Brazos River. The county was created in 1835 as a municipality of Mexico and organized as a county in 1837.[ is named for George Washington, the first president of the United States.

Washington County comprises the Brenham, TX Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Houston-The Woodlands, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Washington County Name

George Washington, the first president of the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Washington County History

Washington County is a county in the US state of Texas, known for the Convention of 1836 where the Texas Declaration of Independence was signed. Its county seat is Brenham. The county is named for George Washington, the first president of the United States.

Handbook of Texas Online
Following the establishment of the district of Brazos by the legislature of Coahuila and Texas in 1834, the citizens of Washington-on-the-Brazos petitioned the political chief at San Felipe de Austin, James B. Miller, to grant the community municipal status. Their request was approved, and in July of 1835 voters selected Josa Handley as alcalde, Jesse Grimes and Asa Mitchell as regidores, A. C. Reynolds as sindico procurador, and John W. Hall as sheriff. In late 1835 and early 1836, after the Texas Revolution had begun to unfold, Washington-on-the-Brazos became a center of political and military activities connected with the rebellion. In December 1835 the Texan army commanded by Gen. Sam Houston established its headquarters there; the following March the town was the site of the Convention of 1836, which issued the Texas Declaration of Independence and established the ad interim government. Fearing retribution from Mexican forces, the delegates and local population then evacuated the area, leaving the town temporarily abandoned. After the revolution the town was suggested as a possible site for the capital of the new republic, but an election held on the question in November 1836 placed the government in Houston instead. Washington County was formally established by the legislature of the Republic of Texas in 1836 and was organized in 1837. Washington-on-the-Brazos became the county seat. Immigration into the area increased significantly in the years after the establishment of the republic, and the rise in population led to the division of the county, which was originally one of the largest in Texas. In February 1840 all of Washington County west of the Brazos River and north of Yegua Creek was annexed to Milam County (some of this land later formed parts of Lee and Burleson counties), and in 1841 Washington County lost more land when Navasota County (now Brazos County) was established. It also lost territory to Walker County (1846) and Madison County (1853). Later, in 1874, the county was reduced one last time when Lee County was formed. More at
James L. Hailey and John Leffler, "WASHINGTON COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcw04), accessed January 24, 2016. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 621 square miles (1,609 km2), of which, 609 square miles (1,578 km2) of it is land and 12 square miles (31 km2) of it (1.95%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Brazos County (north)
  • Grimes County (northeast)
  • Waller County (east)
  • Austin County (south)
  • Fayette County (southwest)
  • Lee County (west)
  • Burleson County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge