Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Arkansas Counties
There are 75 Counties in the State of Arkansas which vary from the rich Delta farmlands of the Mississippi River valley to the rolling hills and gently sloped mountains of the Ozarks and Ouachitas

Carroll County, Arkansas

Carroll County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Berryville
Year Organized: 1833
Square Miles: 634
Court House:

210 West Church Street
County Courthouse
Berryville, AR 72616-4222

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Carroll is named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, a signer of the United States Declaration of Independence from Maryland who was the last surviving and only Catholic signer. Charles Carroll of Carrollton (September 19 1737 – November 14 1832) was a delegate to the Continental Congress and later United States Senator for Maryland. He was the only Catholic signer of the Declaration of Independence. He was the longest lived signer of the Declaration of Independence and the Continental Congress, dying at the age of 95.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

With its flat-topped mountains covered with upland forests of oak and hickory, known as the Ozark Mountain Region, was formed on November 1, 1823, and named for Charles Carroll, a signer of the Declaration of Independence from Maryland. A fast-growing county, last census, (1990), showed a 15.1% increase in population. Poultry growing and processing has become the number one economic activity with tourism and beef production close behind. Some of the most spectacular scenery in the Ozarks is found here. Forest, meadows, limestone bluffs, and springs are breath taking. Carroll County has dual county seats, Berryville, an old fashion town square, is surrounded by shops, restaurants and museums, and Eureka Springs, called "Little Switzerland." Victorian cottages cling to the hillsides; steep winding streets never cross at right angles. Some of the finest artists live and work in the county. Beaver and Table Rock Lakes offer fishing, boating, swimming and other water sports. Shopping in the area shops is popular for all ages. The Eureka Springs courthouse is located on the winding main street that is lined with hotels and shops.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Stone County, Mo.
  • Northeast: Taney County, Mo.
  • East: Boone County
  • Southeast: Newton County
  • Southwest: Madison County
  • West: Benton County
  • Northwest: Barry County, Mo.

Cities and Towns:

- Beaver town Incorporated Area
- Berryville (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Blue Eye town Incorporated Area
- Eureka Springs city Incorporated Area
- Green Forest city Incorporated Area
- Oak Grove town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"