Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Arkansas Counties
There are 75 Counties in the State of Arkansas which vary from the rich Delta farmlands of the Mississippi River valley to the rolling hills and gently sloped mountains of the Ozarks and Ouachitas

Fulton County, Arkansas

Fulton County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Salem
Year Organized: 1842
Square Miles: 618
Court House:

123 N. Main Street
County Courthouse
Salem, AR 72576-9473

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Fulton is named for William Savin Fulton, the last territorial governor of Arkansas. William Savin Fulton (June 2, 1795 – August 15, 1844) was an American lawyer and politician from Little Rock, Arkansas. He served as Governor of the Arkansas Territory and United States Senator for Arkansas.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Created in December 21, 1842, from territory taken from Izard County, and is named after William S. Fulton, the last Governor of Arkansas Territory. The county seat is Salem. Landscape of Fulton County is rugged and mountainous. The well-known Mammoth Spring, one of the largest single-outlet springs in North America, is located in the county. Many recreational activities can be found around this area. Lake Norfork and Horseshoe Bend also provide water sports. Nearly half of the land area of the county is in pastureland. Beef cattle, poultry farming, and feed production are leading agricultural activities. The Fulton County courthouse, built in 1890, was restored in 1973 and has become a landmark. The Saturday night hoedown in Fulton County has been kept alive and is a favorite of local citizens as well as tourists. In May of each year, Fulton County stages an Old Timer Sailor and Marine reunion, which unites people from all over the country. Also in May several other music festivals are held.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Howell County, Mo.
  • Northeast: Oregon County, Mo.
  • Southeast: Sharp County
  • Southwest: Izard County
  • West: Baxter County
  • Northwest: Ozark County, Mo.

Cities and Towns:

- Mammoth Spring city Incorporated Area
- Salem (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Viola town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"